Full List & Biography of Nigerian Leaders from 1914 Till Date

This is a course of events of Nigeria number one residents from when its benefit autonomous in 1960 till date.

From 1960 to 1963 the head of states under the Nigeria autonomy Act 1960 was Queen of Nigeria, Elizabeth II, who was additionally ruler of the United Kingdom and other republic states.

The Queen was spoken to by Governor-Generals whose standard started in Nigeria as at when the Southern and Northern Nigeria protectorate were converged in 1914 by Sir Federick Lugard from 1914 to 1963 when Nigeria turned into a republica, the accompanying names were the main people in Nigeria;

Sir Federick Lugard, he administered from first January, 1914 to eighth August, 1919. He governed for a long time.

Sir Hugh Clifford took over from Sir Lugard, he administered from eighth August, 1919 to thirteenth November, 1925. He governed for a long time.

Sir Graeme Thomson was the third frontier Governor-General; he started his rule from thirteenth November, 1925 to seventeenth June, 1931. He additionally governed for a long time.

Sir Donald Cameron assumed responsibility the authority of Nigeria from Sir Thomson on seventeenth June, 1931 to first November, 1935. He drives Nigeria for a long time.

Sir Bernard Bourdillon administered from first November, 1935 to 1943,. He’s stay was the longest, 8 years altogether.

Sir Arthur Richards took over from 1943 to fifth February, 1948. His stay was for a long time

Sir John Macpherson proceeds from where Sir Richards stops on fifth February, 1948 to first October, 1954. He started another term of one year from first October, 1954 to first June 1955 to make it 7 years in office.

RELATED:  How To Audition / Apply For Big Brother Naija 2020 Edition (Season 5)

Sir James Wilson Robertson was the last British Colonial Lord in Nigeria; he assumed responsibility from fifteenth June, 1955 to sixteenth November, 1960 to make it 5 years.

With autonomous allowed to Nigeria in 1960, the primary Nigerian Governor-General rose;

Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe turned into the first non-British (Nigerian) and the last Governor-General of Nigeria. He managed structure sixteenth November, 1960 to first October, 1963 when Nigeria turned into a Republic.

Under the new republic the 1963 constitution (the first for Nigeria as a republic) replaces the government arrangement of government with the administration.

Nnamdi Azikiwe turned into the principal Nigeria head of states; he got to work from first October, 1963 to sixteenth January, 1966. He went through 2 years and 107 days in office.

The main military overthrow on fifteenth January, 1966 permitted the military to assume control over the administration of the nation;

Major-General Johnson Aguiyi-Ironsi began driving Nigeria from sixteenth January, 1966 to twelfth July, 1966. He controlled for 177 days

General Yakubu Gowon took over from first August, 1966 and left 29th Jully, 1975. He went through 8 years 362 days in office.

General Murtala Muhammed started his standard from29th July, 1975 to thirteenth February, 1976. He governed for 199 days.

Major-General Olusegun Obasanjo took over from General Murtala, his reign in office was from thirteenth February, 1976 to first October 1979. He was in office for a long time 258 days.

RELATED:  Regina Daniels celebrates ex-boyfriend Somadina Adinma on his birthday ( A must see)

Shehu Shagari was next to lead Nigeria; he leads from first October, 1979 to 31st December, 1983. He was there for a long time 91 days.

Major-General Muhammadu Buhari, got to work from 31st December, 1983 to 27th August, 1985. He assumed responsibility for 1 year 239 days.

General Ibrahim Babangida, governed from 27th August, 1985 to 26th August, 1993. He was there for a long time 364 days.

Ernest Shonekan who has the least of reigns in office (83 days) took over from 26th August, 1993 to seventeenth November, 1993.

General Sani Abacha turned into the head of states from seventeenth November, 1993 to eighth June, 1998. He went through 4 years 203 days in office.

General Abdulsalam started his rule from eighth June 1998 to 29th May, 1999. He went through 355 days in office.

Olusegun Obasanjo again from 29th May, 1999 starts to lead Nigeria. He went through 8 years finishing on 29th May, 2007.

Umaru Musa Yar’Adua was next; he got down to business from 29th May, 2007 to fifth May, 2010. He went through 2 years 341 days.

Goodluck Jonnathan, came into office from fifth May, 2010 to 29th May, 2015, he was there for a long time 25 days.

Muhammadu Buhari took office again from 29th May, 2015 and still stay till date (occupant).

Nigerian Leaders In HistoryAdministration
Date of LeadershipDesignation
Sir Lord Frederick LugardColonial1914 - 1919Governor General
Sir Bernard BourdillonColonial1635 - 1943Governor General
Sir John MacphersonColonial1948 - 1955Governor General
Sir James RobersonColonial1955 - 1960Governor General
Benjamin Nnamdi Azikiwe
Civilian1 Oct 1960 - 16 Jan 1963President of the Republic
Alhaji Abubakar Tafawa Balewa

Civilian30 Aug 1960 - 15 Jan 1966Prime Minister
Johnson Thomas Umurakwe Aguiyi-IronsiMilitary16 Jan 1966 - 29 Jul 1966Heads of the Military Government
Yakubu Gowon
Military1 Aug 1966 - 29 Jul 1975Heads of the Military Government
Murtala Ramat MuhammedMilitary29 Jul 1975 - 13 Feb 1976Heads of the Military Government
Olusegun ObasanjoMilitary14 Feb 1976 - 1 Oct 1979Heads of the Military Government
Alhaji Shehu Usman Aliyu ShagariCivilian1 Oct 1979 - 31 Dec 1983President of the Republic
Muhammadu BuhariMilitary31 Dec 1983 - 27 Aug 1985Head of the Federal Military Government
Ibrahim Badamasi BabangidaMilitary27 Aug 1985 - 4 Jan 1993Chairman of the Armed Forces Ruling Council
Chairman of the National Defence and Security Council
Ernest Adekunle Oladeinde ShonekanCivilian26 Aug 1993 - 17 Nov 1993Head of the Interim National Government
Sani AbachaMilitary17 Nov 1993 - 8 Jun 1998Chairman of the Provisional Ruling Council
Abdulsalam AbubakarMilitary9 Jun 1998 - 29 May 1999Chairman of the Provisional Ruling Council
Olusegun ObasanjoCivilian29 May 1999 - 29 May 2007President of the Republic
Umaru Musa Yar'AduaCivilian29 May 2007 - 5 May 2010President of the Republic
Goodluck JonathanCivilian9 Feb 2010 - 29 May 2015. Acting for Yar'Adua to 5 May 2010President of the Republic
Muhammadu Buhari

Military29 May 2015 till datePresident of the Republic
RELATED:  Top 10 + Richest Female Celebrities in Nollywood & Net Worth (Updated)
Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to GetResponse ( more information )

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.