COVID-19 new variants: Lagos places 14 countries on watch list

…Returnees from lesser hajj to undergo 7days compulsory isolation

By Olasunkanmi Akoni and Olawale Gabriel

As part of measures to prevent infection and possible spread of the new variants of COVID-19, pandemic, Lagos State Government has placed 14 countries on close monitoring.

RELATED:  Osinbajo calls for responsible use of social media

Recall that the state had earlier placed all emergency facilities in the state on high alert to pick up early trends that may suggest fresh wave.

The state Commissioner of Health, Prof. Akin Abayomi who announced this on Wednesday, at a media briefing in Alausa, Ikeja, said the measure has become necessary following discovery of variants from banned countries within another country.

RELATED:  Harrysong shares message he received from lady who claimed a prophet told her he's the one for her

He said the state government will begin to monitor movement of people from 14 countries into the state.

The affected countries are: Canada, USA, France, Germany, Netherlands, Togo, Ghana, Cameroun, Angola, South Africa, Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Rwanda.

RELATED:  Updated: Police woman shot, as bandits attack another Imo police station

Vanguard News Nigeria

The post COVID-19 new variants: Lagos places 14 countries on watch list appeared first on Vanguard News.


Receive Updates

No spam guarantee.

I agree to have my personal information transfered to GetResponse ( more information )